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A Brief History of California Human Trafficking Laws 
 
The California Trafficking Victims Protection Act (CTVPA) – AB 22  
 
 September 2005 – California Penal Code Section 236.1 was born. 
 
The Chelsea King Child Predator Prevention Act – AB 1844  
 
 September 2010 – Increased fines for trafficking children. 
 
The Californians Against Sexual Exploitation Act (CASE Act) – Prop. 35  
 
 November 2012: 

 Increases criminal penalties for human trafficking, including prison sentences 
up to 15-years-to-life and fines up to $1,500,000.  

 Fines collected to be used for victim services and law enforcement.  
 Requires person convicted of trafficking to register as sex offender.  
 Requires sex offenders to provide information regarding Internet access and 

identities they use in online activities.  
 Prohibits evidence that victim engaged in sexual conduct from being used 

against victim in court proceedings.  
 Requires human trafficking training for police officers.  

The Mission of Proposition 35 
 

The People of the State of California find and declare: 
 
1. Protecting every person in our state, particularly our children, from all forms of 

sexual exploitation is of paramount importance. 
2. Human trafficking is a crime against human dignity and a grievous violation of 

basic human and civil rights. Human trafficking is modern slavery, manifested 
through the exploitation of another's vulnerabilities. 

3. Upwards of 300,000 American children are at risk of commercial sexual 
exploitation, according to a United States Department of Justice study. Most are 
enticed into the sex trade at the age of 12 to 14 years old, but some are trafficked 
as young as four years old. Because minors are legally incapable of consenting 
to sexual activity, these minors are victims of human trafficking whether or not 
force is used. 

4. While the rise of the Internet has delivered great benefits to California, the 
predatory use of this technology by human traffickers and sex offenders has 
allowed such exploiters a new means to entice and prey on vulnerable 
individuals in our state. 
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5. We need stronger laws to combat the threats posed by human traffickers and 
online predators seeking to exploit women and children for sexual purposes. 

6. We need to strengthen sex offender registration requirements to deter predators 
from using the Internet to facilitate human trafficking and sexual exploitation. 

 
The People of the State of California declare their purpose and intent in enacting the 
CASE Act to be as follows: 
 
1. To combat the crime of human trafficking and ensure just and effective 

punishment of people who promote or engage in the crime of human trafficking. 
2. To recognize trafficked individuals as victims and not criminals, and to protect the 

rights of trafficked victims. 
3. To strengthen laws regarding sexual exploitation, including sex offender 

registration requirements, to allow law enforcement to track and prevent online 
sex offenses and human trafficking.   

 
Human Trafficking Pre-Proposition 35 

 
California Penal Code Section 236.1 

(a) Any person who deprives or violates the personal liberty of another with the intent to 
effect or maintain a felony violation of Section 266, 266h, 266i, 267, 311.4, or 518, or to 
obtain forced labor or services, is guilty of human trafficking. 

(b) Except as provided in subdivision (c), a violation of this section is punishable by 
imprisonment in the state prison for three, four, or five years. 

(c) A violation of this section where the victim of the trafficking was under 18 years of 
age at the time of the commission of the offense is punishable by imprisonment in the 
state prison for four, six, or eight years. 

(d)(1) For purposes of this section, unlawful deprivation or violation of the personal 
liberty of another includes substantial and sustained restriction of another's liberty 
accomplished through fraud, deceit, coercion, violence, duress, menace, or threat of 
unlawful injury to the victim or to another person, under circumstances where the 
person receiving or apprehending the threat reasonably believes that it is likely that the 
person making the threat would carry it out. 

  (2) Duress includes knowingly destroying, concealing, removing, confiscating, or 
possessing any actual or purported passport or immigration document of the victim. 

(e) For purposes of this section, "forced labor or services" means labor or services that 
are performed or provided by a person and are obtained or maintained through force, 
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fraud, or coercion, or equivalent conduct that would reasonably overbear the will of the 
person. 

(f) The Legislature finds that the definition of human trafficking in this section is 
equivalent to the federal definition of a severe form of trafficking found in Section 
7102(8) of Title 22 of the United States Code. 

Human Trafficking Post-Proposition 35 
 
California Penal Code Section 236.1 
 
(a) Any person who deprives or violates the personal liberty of another with the intent to 
obtain forced labor or services, is guilty of human trafficking and shall be punished by 
imprisonment in the state prison for 5, 8, or 12 years and a fine of not more than five 
hundred thousand dollars ($500,000). 
 
(b) Any person who deprives or violates the personal liberty of another with the intent to 
effect or maintain a violation of Section 266, 266h, 266i, 266j, 267, 311.1, 311.2, 311.3, 
311.4, 311.5, 311.6, or 518 is guilty of human trafficking and shall be punished by 
imprisonment in the state prison for 8, 14, or 20 years and a fine of not more than five 
hundred thousand dollars ($500,000). 
 
(c) Any person who causes, induces, or persuades, or attempts to cause, induce, or 
persuade, a person who is a minor at the time of commission of the offense to engage 
in a commercial sex act, with the intent to effect or maintain a violation of Section 266, 
266h, 266i, 266j, 267, 311.1, 311.2, 311.3, 311.4, 311.5, 311.6, or 518 is guilty of 
human trafficking. A violation of this subdivision is punishable by imprisonment in the 
state prison as follows: 
 
  (1) Five, eight, or twelve years and a fine of not more than five hundred thousand 
dollars ($500,000). 
 
  (2) Fifteen years to life and a fine of not more than five hundred thousand dollars 
($500,000) when the offense involves force, fear, fraud, deceit, coercion, violence, 
duress, menace, or threat of unlawful injury to the victim or to another person. 
 
(d) In determining whether a minor was caused, induced, or persuaded to engage in a 
commercial sex act, the totality of the circumstances, including the age of the victim, his 
or her relationship to the trafficker or agents of the trafficker, and any handicap or 
disability of the victim, shall be considered. 
 
(e) Consent by a victim of human trafficking who is a minor at the time of the 
commission of the offense is not a defense to a criminal prosecution under this section. 
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(f) Mistake of fact as to the age of a victim of human trafficking who is a minor at the 
time of the commission of the offense is not a defense to a criminal prosecution under 
this section. 
 
(g) The Legislature finds that the definition of human trafficking in this section is 
equivalent to the federal definition of a severe form of trafficking found in Section 
7102(8) of Title 22 of the United States Code. 
 
(h) For purposes of this chapter, the following definitions apply: 
 
  (1) "Coercion" includes any scheme, plan, or pattern intended to cause a person to 
believe that failure to perform an act would result in serious harm to or physical restraint 
against any person; the abuse or threatened abuse of the legal process; debt bondage; 
or providing and facilitating the possession of any controlled substance to a person with 
the intent to impair the person's judgment. 
 
  (2) "Commercial sex act" means sexual conduct on account of which anything of value 
is given or received by any person. 
 
  (3) "Deprivation or violation of the personal liberty of another" includes substantial and 
sustained restriction of another's liberty accomplished through force, fear, fraud, deceit, 
coercion, violence, duress, menace, or threat of unlawful injury to the victim or to 
another person, under circumstances where the person receiving or apprehending the 
threat reasonably believes that it is likely that the person making the threat would carry 
it out. 
 
  (4) "Duress" includes a direct or implied threat of force, violence, danger, hardship, or 
retribution sufficient to cause a reasonable person to acquiesce in or perform an act 
which he or she would otherwise not have submitted to or performed; a direct or implied 
threat to destroy, conceal, remove, confiscate, or possess any actual or purported 
passport or immigration document of the victim; or knowingly destroying, concealing, 
removing, confiscating, or possessing any actual or purported passport or immigration 
document of the victim. 
 
  (5) "Forced labor or services" means labor or services that are performed or provided 
by a person and are obtained or maintained through force, fraud, duress, or coercion, 
or equivalent conduct that would reasonably overbear the will of the person. 
 
  (6) "Great bodily injury" means a significant or substantial physical injury. 
 
  (7) "Minor" means a person less than 18 years of age. 
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  (8) "Serious harm" includes any harm, whether physical or nonphysical, including 
psychological, financial, or reputational harm, that is sufficiently serious, under all the 
surrounding circumstances, to compel a reasonable person of the same background 
and in the same circumstances to perform or to continue performing labor, services, or 
commercial sexual acts in order to avoid incurring that harm. 
 
(i) The total circumstances, including the age of the victim, the relationship between the 
victim and the trafficker or agents of the trafficker, and any handicap or disability of the 
victim, shall be factors to consider in determining the presence of "deprivation or 
violation of the personal liberty of another," "duress," and "coercion" as described in this 
section. 
 
California Penal Code Section 236.2 
 
Law enforcement agencies shall use due diligence to identify all victims of human 
trafficking, regardless of the citizenship of the person. When a peace officer comes into 
contact with a person who has been deprived of his or her personal liberty, a minor who 
has engaged in a commercial sex act, a person suspected of violating subdivision (a) or 
(b) of Section 647, or a victim of a crime of domestic violence or sexual assault, the 
peace officer shall consider whether the following indicators of human trafficking are 
present: 
 
  (a) Signs of trauma, fatigue, injury, or other evidence of poor care. 
 
  (b) The person is withdrawn, afraid to talk, or his or her communication is censored by 
another person. 
 
  (c) The person does not have freedom of movement. 
 
  (d) The person lives and works in one place. 
 
  (e) The person owes a debt to his or her employer. 
 
  (f) Security measures are used to control who has contact with the person. 
 
  (g) The person does not have control over his or her own government-issued 
identification or over his or her worker immigration documents. 
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Incorporated U.S. Code Definition 
 
Title 22, U.S. Code Section 7102 – Definitions 
 
(8) Severe forms of trafficking in persons. The term “severe forms of trafficking in 
persons” means—  
 
  (A) sex trafficking in which a commercial sex act is induced by force, fraud, or 
coercion, or in which the person induced to perform such act has not attained 18 years 
of age; or  
 
  (B) the recruitment, harboring, transportation, provision, or obtaining of a person for 
labor or services, through the use of force, fraud, or coercion for the purpose of 
subjection to involuntary servitude, peonage, debt bondage, or slavery.  
 

New and Additional punishments 
 

California Penal Code Section 236.4.   
 
(a) Upon the conviction of a person of a violation of Section 236.1, the court may, in 
addition to any other penalty, fine, or restitution imposed, order the defendant to pay an 
additional fine not to exceed one million dollars ($1,000,000). In setting the amount of 
the fine, the court shall consider any relevant factors, including, but not limited to, the 
seriousness and gravity of the offense, the circumstances and duration of its 
commission, the amount of economic gain the defendant derived as a result of the 
crime, and the extent to which the victim suffered losses as a result of the crime. 
 
(b) Any person who inflicts great bodily injury on a victim in the commission or 
attempted commission of a violation of Section 236.1 shall be punished by an additional 
and consecutive term of imprisonment in the state prison for 5, 7, or 10 years. 
 
(c) Any person who has previously been convicted of a violation of any crime specified 
in Section 236.1 shall receive an additional and consecutive term of imprisonment in 
the state prison for 5 years for each additional conviction on charges separately 
brought and tried. 
 
(d) Every fine imposed and collected pursuant to Section 236.1 and this section shall 
be deposited in the Victim-Witness Assistance Fund, to be administered by the 
California Emergency Management Agency (Cal EMA), to fund grants for services for 
victims of human trafficking. Seventy percent of the fines collected and deposited shall 
be granted to public agencies and nonprofit corporations that provide shelter, 
counseling, or other direct services for trafficked victims. Thirty percent of the fines 
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collected and deposited shall be granted to law enforcement and prosecution agencies 
in the jurisdiction in which the charges were filed to fund human trafficking prevention, 
witness protection, and rescue operations. 
 

Human Trafficking Predicate Crimes 
 
California Penal Code Section 266 
 
Every person who inveigles or entices any unmarried female, of previous chaste 
character, under the age of 18 years, into any house of ill fame, or of assignation, or 
elsewhere, for the purpose of prostitution, or to have illicit carnal connection with any 
man; and every person who aids or assists in such inveiglement or enticement; and 
every person who, by any false pretenses, false representation, or other fraudulent 
means, procures any female to have illicit carnal connection with any man, is 
punishable by imprisonment in the state prison, or by imprisonment in a county jail not 
exceeding one year, or by a fine not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by 
both such fine and imprisonment. 

California Penal Code Section 266h 

(a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), any person who, knowing another person is a 
prostitute, lives or derives support or maintenance in whole or in part from the earnings 
or proceeds of the person's prostitution, or from money loaned or advanced to or 
charged against that person by any keeper or manager or inmate of a house or other 
place where prostitution is practiced or allowed, or who solicits or receives 
compensation for soliciting for the person, is guilty of pimping, a felony, and shall be 
punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for three, four, or six years. 

(b) Any person who, knowing another person is a prostitute, lives or derives support or 
maintenance in whole or in part from the earnings or proceeds of the person's 
prostitution, or from money loaned or advanced to or charged against that person by 
any keeper or manager or inmate of a house or other place where prostitution is 
practiced or allowed, or who solicits or receives compensation for soliciting for the 
person, when the prostitute is a minor, is guilty of pimping a minor, a felony, and shall 
be punishable as follows: 

  (1) If the person engaged in prostitution is a minor over the age of 16 years, the 
offense is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for three, four, or six years. 

  (2) If the person engaged in prostitution is under 16 years of age, the offense is 
punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for three, six, or eight years. 
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California Penal Code Section 266i 

(a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), any person who does any of the following is 
guilty of pandering, a felony, and shall be punishable by imprisonment in the state 
prison for three, four, or six years: 

  (1) Procures another person for the purpose of prostitution. 

  (2) By promises, threats, violence, or by any device or scheme, causes, induces, 
persuades or encourages another person to become a prostitute. 

  (3) Procures for another person a place as an inmate in a house of prostitution or as 
an inmate of any place in which prostitution is encouraged or allowed within this state. 

  (4) By promises, threats, violence or by any device or scheme, causes, induces, 
persuades or encourages an inmate of a house of prostitution, or any other place in 
which prostitution is encouraged or allowed, to remain therein as an inmate. 

  (5) By fraud or artifice, or by duress of person or goods, or by abuse of any position of 
confidence or authority, procures another person for the purpose of prostitution, or to 
enter any place in which prostitution is encouraged or allowed within this state, or to 
come into this state or leave this state for the purpose of prostitution. 

  (6) Receives or gives, or agrees to receive or give, any money or thing of value for 
procuring, or attempting to procure, another person for the purpose of prostitution, or to 
come into this state or leave this state for the purpose of prostitution. 

(b) Any person who does any of the acts described in subdivision (a) with another 
person who is a minor is guilty of pandering, a felony, and shall be punishable as 
follows: 

  (1) If the other person is a minor over the age of 16 years, the offense is punishable 
by imprisonment in the state prison for three, four, or six years. 

  (2) If the other person is under 16 years of age, the offense is punishable by 
imprisonment in the state prison for three, six, or eight years. 

California Penal Code Section 266j 
  
Any person who intentionally gives, transports, provides, or makes available, or who 
offers to give, transport, provide, or make available to another person, a child under the 
age of 16 for the purpose of any lewd or lascivious act as defined in Section 288, or 
who causes, induces, or persuades a child under the age of 16 to engage in such an  
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act with another person, is guilty of a felony and shall be imprisoned in the state prison 
for a term of three, six, or eight years, and by a fine not to exceed fifteen thousand 
dollars ($15,000). 
 
California Penal Code Section 267  
 
Every person who takes away any other person under the age of 18 years from the 
father, mother, guardian, or other person having the legal charge of the other person, 
without their consent, for the purpose of prostitution, is punishable by imprisonment in 
the state prison, and a fine not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000). 

California Penal Code Section 311.1 

(a) Every person who knowingly sends or causes to be sent, or brings or causes to be 
brought, into this state for sale or distribution, or in this state possesses, prepares, 
publishes, produces, develops, duplicates, or prints any representation of information, 
data, or image, including, but not limited to, any film, filmstrip, photograph, negative, 
slide, photocopy, videotape, video laser disc, computer hardware, computer software, 
computer floppy disc, data storage media, CD-ROM, or computer-generated equipment 
or any other computer-generated image that contains or incorporates in any manner, 
any film or filmstrip, with intent to distribute or to exhibit to, or to exchange with, others, 
or who offers to distribute, distributes, or exhibits to, or exchanges with, others, any 
obscene matter, knowing that the matter depicts a person under the age of 18 years 
personally engaging in or personally simulating sexual conduct, as defined in Section 
311.4, shall be punished either by imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year, by 
a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and 
imprisonment, or by imprisonment in the state prison, by a fine not to exceed ten 
thousand dollars ($10,000), or by the fine and imprisonment. 

(b) This section does not apply to the activities of law enforcement and prosecuting 
agencies in the investigation and prosecution of criminal offenses or to legitimate 
medical, scientific, or educational activities, or to lawful conduct between spouses. 

(c) This section does not apply to matter which depicts a child under the age of 18, 
which child is legally emancipated, including lawful conduct between spouses when 
one or both are under the age of 18. 

(d) It does not constitute a violation of this section for a telephone corporation, as 
defined by Section 234 of the Public Utilities Code, to carry or transmit messages 
described in this chapter or perform related activities in providing telephone services. 
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California Penal Code Section 311.2 

(a) Every person who knowingly sends or causes to be sent, or brings or causes to be 
brought, into this state for sale or distribution, or in this state possesses, prepares, 
publishes, produces, or prints, with intent to distribute or to exhibit to others, or who 
offers to distribute, distributes, or exhibits to others, any obscene matter is for a first 
offense, guilty of a misdemeanor. If the person has previously been convicted of any 
violation of this section, the court may, in addition to the punishment authorized in 
Section 311.9, impose a fine not exceeding fifty thousand dollars ($50,000). 

(b) Every person who knowingly sends or causes to be sent, or brings or causes to be 
brought, into this state for sale or distribution, or in this state possesses, prepares, 
publishes, produces, develops, duplicates, or prints any representation of information, 
data, or image, including, but not limited to, any film, filmstrip, photograph, negative, 
slide, photocopy, videotape, video laser disc, computer hardware, computer software, 
computer floppy disc, data storage media, CD-ROM, or computer-generated equipment 
or any other computer-generated image that contains or incorporates in any manner, 
any film or filmstrip, with intent to distribute or to exhibit to, or to exchange with, others 
for commercial consideration, or who offers to distribute, distributes, or exhibits to, or 
exchanges with, others for commercial consideration, any obscene matter, knowing 
that the matter depicts a person under the age of 18 years personally engaging in or 
personally simulating sexual conduct, as defined in Section 311.4, is guilty of a felony 
and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or six years, or 
by a fine not exceeding one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000), in the absence of a 
finding that the defendant would be incapable of paying that fine, or by both that fine 
and imprisonment. 

(c) Every person who knowingly sends or causes to be sent, or brings or causes to be 
brought, into this state for sale or distribution, or in this state possesses, prepares, 
publishes, produces, develops, duplicates, or prints any representation of information, 
data, or image, including, but not limited to, any film, filmstrip, photograph, negative, 
slide, photocopy, videotape, video laser disc, computer hardware, computer software, 
computer floppy disc, data storage media, CD-ROM, or computer-generated equipment 
or any other computer-generated image that contains or incorporates in any manner, 
any film or filmstrip, with intent to distribute or exhibit to, or to exchange with, a person 
18 years of age or older, or who offers to distribute, distributes, or exhibits to, or 
exchanges with, a person 18 years of age or older any matter, knowing that the matter 
depicts a person under the age of 18 years personally engaging in or personally 
simulating sexual conduct, as defined in Section 311.4, shall be punished by 
imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year, or by a fine not exceeding two 
thousand dollars ($2,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment, or by imprisonment in  
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the state prison. It is not necessary to prove commercial consideration or that the 
matter is obscene in order to establish a violation of this subdivision. If a person has 
been previously convicted of a violation of this subdivision, he or she is guilty of a 
felony. 

(d) Every person who knowingly sends or causes to be sent, or brings or causes to be 
brought, into this state for sale or distribution, or in this state possesses, prepares, 
publishes, produces, develops, duplicates, or prints any representation of information, 
data, or image, including, but not limited to, any film, filmstrip, photograph, negative, 
slide, photocopy, videotape, video laser disc, computer hardware, computer software, 
computer floppy disc, data storage media, CD-ROM, or computer-generated equipment 
or any other computer-generated image that contains or incorporates in any manner, 
any film or filmstrip, with intent to distribute or exhibit to, or to exchange with, a person 
under 18 years of age, or who offers to distribute, distributes, or exhibits to, or 
exchanges with, a person under 18 years of age any matter, knowing that the matter 
depicts a person under the age of 18 years personally engaging in or personally 
simulating sexual conduct, as defined in Section 311.4, is guilty of a felony. It is not 
necessary to prove commercial consideration or that the matter is obscene in order to 
establish a violation of this subdivision. 

(e) Subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, do not apply to the activities of law enforcement 
and prosecuting agencies in the investigation and prosecution of criminal offenses, to 
legitimate medical, scientific, or educational activities, or to lawful conduct between 
spouses. 

(f) This section does not apply to matter that depicts a legally emancipated child under 
the age of 18 years or to lawful conduct between spouses when one or both are under 
the age of 18 years. 

(g) It does not constitute a violation of this section for a telephone corporation, as 
defined by Section 234 of the Public Utilities Code, to carry or transmit messages 
described in this chapter or to perform related activities in providing telephone services. 

California Penal Code Section 311.3 

(a) A person is guilty of sexual exploitation of a child if he or she knowingly develops, 
duplicates, prints, or exchanges any representation of information, data, or image, 
including, but not limited to, any film, filmstrip, photograph, negative, slide, photocopy, 
videotape, video laser disc, computer hardware, computer software, computer floppy 
disc, data storage media, CD-ROM, or computer-generated equipment or any other 
computer-generated image that contains or incorporates in any manner, any film or 
filmstrip that depicts a person under the age of 18 years engaged in an act of sexual 
conduct. 
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(b) As used in this section, "sexual conduct" means any of the following: 

  (1) Sexual intercourse, including genital-genital, oral-genital, anal-genital, or oral-anal, 
whether between persons of the same or opposite sex or between humans and 
animals. 

  (2) Penetration of the vagina or rectum by any object. 

  (3) Masturbation for the purpose of sexual stimulation of the viewer. 

  (4) Sadomasochistic abuse for the purpose of sexual stimulation of the viewer. 

  (5) Exhibition of the genitals or the pubic or rectal area of any person for the purpose 
of sexual stimulation of the viewer. 

  (6) Defecation or urination for the purpose of sexual stimulation of the viewer. 

(c) Subdivision (a) does not apply to the activities of law enforcement and prosecution 
agencies in the investigation and prosecution of criminal offenses or to legitimate 
medical, scientific, or educational activities, or to lawful conduct between spouses. 

(d) Every person who violates subdivision (a) shall be punished by a fine of not more 
than two thousand dollars ($2,000) or by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than 
one year, or by both that fine and imprisonment. If the person has been previously 
convicted of a violation of subdivision (a) or any section of this chapter, he or she shall 
be punished by imprisonment in the state prison. 

(e) The provisions of this section do not apply to an employee of a commercial film 
developer who is acting within the scope of his or her employment and in accordance 
with the instructions of his or her employer, provided that the employee has no financial 
interest in the commercial developer by which he or she is employed. 

(f) Subdivision (a) does not apply to matter that is unsolicited and is received without 
knowledge or consent through a facility, system, or network over which the person or 
entity has no control. 

California Penal Code Section 311.4 

(a) Every person who, with knowledge that a person is a minor, or who, while in 
possession of any facts on the basis of which he or she should reasonably know that 
the person is a minor, hires, employs, or uses the minor to do or assist in doing any of 
the acts described in Section 311.2, shall be punished by imprisonment in the county 
jail for up to one year, or by a fine not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by 
both that fine and imprisonment, or by imprisonment in the state prison. If the person 
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has previously been convicted of any violation of this section, the court may, in addition 
to the punishment authorized in Section 311.9, impose a fine not exceeding fifty 
thousand dollars ($50,000). 

(b) Every person who, with knowledge that a person is a minor under the age of 18 
years, or who, while in possession of any facts on the basis of which he or she should 
reasonably know that the person is a minor under the age of 18 years, knowingly 
promotes, employs, uses, persuades, induces, or coerces a minor under the age of 18 
years, or any parent or guardian of a minor under the age of 18 years under his or her 
control who knowingly permits the minor, to engage in or assist others to engage in 
either posing or modeling alone or with others for purposes of preparing any 
representation of information, data, or image, including, but not limited to, any film, 
filmstrip, photograph, negative, slide, photocopy, videotape, video laser disc, computer 
hardware, computer software, computer floppy disc, data storage media, CD-ROM, or 
computer-generated equipment or any other computer-generated image that contains 
or incorporates in any manner, any film, filmstrip, or a live performance involving, 
sexual conduct by a minor under the age of 18 years alone or with other persons or 
animals, for commercial purposes, is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by 
imprisonment in the state prison for three, six, or eight years. 

(c) Every person who, with knowledge that a person is a minor under the age of 18 
years, or who, while in possession of any facts on the basis of which he or she should 
reasonably know that the person is a minor under the age of 18 years, knowingly 
promotes, employs, uses, persuades, induces, or coerces a minor under the age of 18 
years, or any parent or guardian of a minor under the age of 18 years under his or her 
control who knowingly permits the minor, to engage in or assist others to engage in 
either posing or modeling alone or with others for purposes of preparing any 
representation of information, data, or image, including, but not limited to, any film, 
filmstrip, photograph, negative, slide, photocopy, videotape, video laser disc, computer 
hardware, computer software, computer floppy disc, data storage media, CD-ROM, or 
computer-generated equipment or any other computer-generated image that contains 
or incorporates in any manner, any film, filmstrip, or a live performance involving, 
sexual conduct by a minor under the age of 18 years alone or with other persons or 
animals, is guilty of a felony. It is not necessary to prove commercial purposes in order 
to establish a violation of this subdivision. 

(d)(1) As used in subdivisions (b) and (c), "sexual conduct" means any of the following, 
whether actual or simulated: sexual intercourse, oral copulation, anal intercourse, anal 
oral copulation, masturbation, bestiality, sexual sadism, sexual masochism, penetration 
of the vagina or rectum by any object in a lewd or lascivious manner, exhibition of the 
genitals or pubic or rectal area for the purpose of sexual stimulation of the viewer, any 
lewd or lascivious sexual act as defined in Section 288, or excretory functions 
performed in a lewd or lascivious manner, whether or not any of the above conduct is 
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performed alone or between members of the same or opposite sex or between humans 
and animals. An act is simulated when it gives the appearance of being sexual conduct. 

  (2) As used in subdivisions (b) and (c), "matter" means any film, filmstrip, photograph, 
negative, slide, photocopy, videotape, video laser disc, computer hardware, computer 
software, computer floppy disc, or any other computer-related equipment or computer-
generated image that contains or incorporates in any manner, any film, filmstrip, 
photograph, negative, slide, photocopy, videotape, or video laser disc. 

(e) This section does not apply to a legally emancipated minor or to lawful conduct 
between spouses if one or both are under the age of 18. 

(f) In every prosecution under this section involving a minor under the age of 14 years 
at the time of the offense, the age of the victim shall be pled and proven for the purpose 
of the enhanced penalty provided in Section 647.6. Failure to plead and prove that the 
victim was under the age of 14 years at the time of the offense is not a bar to 
prosecution under this section if it is proven that the victim was under the age of 18 
years at the time of the offense. 

California Penal Code Section 311.5  
 
Every person who writes, creates, or solicits the publication or distribution of advertising 
or other promotional material, or who in any manner promotes, the sale, distribution, or 
exhibition of matter represented or held out by him to be obscene, is guilty of a 
misdemeanor. 
 
California Penal Code Section 311.6  
 
Every person who knowingly engages or participates in, manages, produces, sponsors, 
presents or exhibits obscene live conduct to or before an assembly or audience 
consisting of at least one person or spectator in any public place or in any place 
exposed to public view, or in any place open to the public or to a segment thereof, 
whether or not an admission fee is charged, or whether or not attendance is 
conditioned upon the presentation of a membership card or other token, is guilty of a 
misdemeanor. 
 
California Penal Code Section 518 
  
Extortion is the obtaining of property from another, with his consent, or the obtaining of 
an official act of a public officer, induced by a wrongful use of force or fear, or under 
color of official right. 
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Registration as a Convicted Sex Offender 
 
California Penal Code Section 290 
 
(a) Sections 290 to 290.024, inclusive, shall be known and may be cited as the Sex 
Offender Registration Act. All references to "the Act" in those sections are to the Sex 
Offender Registration Act. 
 
(b) Every person described in subdivision (c), for the rest of his or her life while residing 
in California, or while attending school or working in California, as described in Sections 
290.002 and 290.01, shall be required to register with the chief of police of the city in 
which he or she is residing, or the sheriff of the county if he or she is residing in an 
unincorporated area or city that has no police department, and, additionally, with the 
chief of police of a campus of the University of California, the California State 
University, or community college if he or she is residing upon the campus or in any of 
its facilities, within five working days of coming into, or changing his or her residence 
within, any city, county, or city and county, or campus in which he or she temporarily 
resides, and shall be required to register thereafter in accordance with the Act. 
 
(c) The following persons shall be required to register: 
 
Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been or is hereafter convicted in any court in 
this state or in any federal or military court of a violation of Section 187 committed in the 
perpetration, or an attempt to perpetrate, rape or any act punishable under Section 286, 
288, 288a, or 289, Section 207 or 209 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 
286, 288, 288a, or 289, Section 220, except assault to commit mayhem, subdivision 
(b) and (c) of Section 236.1, Section 243.4, paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), or (6) of 
subdivision (a) of Section 261, paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 262 involving 
the use of force or violence for which the person is sentenced to the state prison, 
Section 264.1, 266, or 266c, subdivision (b) of Section 266h, subdivision (b) of Section 
266i, Section 266j, 267, 269, 285, 286, 288, 288a, 288.3, 288.4, 288.5, 288.7, 289, or 
311.1, subdivision (b), (c), or (d) of Section 311.2, Section 311.3, 311.4, 311.10, 
311.11, or 647.6, former Section 647a, subdivision (c) of Section 653f, subdivision 1 or 
2 of Section 314, any offense involving lewd or lascivious conduct under Section 272, 
or any felony violation of Section 288.2; any statutory predecessor that includes all 
elements of one of the above-mentioned offenses; or any person who since that date 
has been or is hereafter convicted of the attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the 
above-mentioned offenses. 
 
California Penal Code Section 290.014 
 
(b) If any person who is required to register pursuant to the Act adds or changes his or 
her account with an Internet service provider or adds or changes an Internet identifier, 
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the person shall send written notice of the addition or change to the law enforcement 
agency or agencies with which he or she is currently registered within 24 hours. The 
law enforcement agency or agencies shall make this information available to the 
Department of Justice. Each person to whom this subdivision applies at the time this 
subdivision becomes effective shall immediately provide the information required by 
this subdivision. 
 

California Penal Code Section 290.015 

 

(a) A person who is subject to the Act shall register, or reregister if he or she has 
previously registered, upon release from incarceration, placement, commitment, or 
release on probation pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 290. This section shall not 
apply to a person who is incarcerated for less than 30 days if he or she has registered 
as required by the Act, he or she returns after incarceration to the last registered 
address, and the annual update of registration that is required to occur within five 
working days of his or her birthday, pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 290.012, did 
not fall within that incarceration period. The registration shall consist of all of the 
following: 
 
 (1) A statement in writing signed by the person, giving information as shall be required 
by the Department of Justice and giving the name and address of the person's 
employer, and the address of the person's place of employment if that is different from 
the employer's main address. 
 
 (2) The fingerprints and a current photograph of the person taken by the registering 
official. 
 
 (3) The license plate number of any vehicle owned by, regularly driven by, or 
registered in the name of the person. 
 
 (4) A list of any and all Internet identifiers established or used by the person. 
 
 (5) A list of any and all Internet service providers used by the person. 
 
 (6) A statement in writing, signed by the person, acknowledging that the person is 
required to register and update the information in paragraphs (4) and (5), as required 
by this chapter. 
 
 (7) Notice to the person that, in addition to the requirements of the Act, he or she may 
have a duty to register in any other state where he or she may relocate. 
 
 (8) Copies of adequate proof of residence, which shall be limited to a California driver's 
license, California identification card, recent rent or utility receipt, printed personalized 
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checks or other recent banking documents showing that person's name and address, or 
any other information that the registering official believes is reliable. If the person has 
no residence and no reasonable expectation of obtaining a residence in the 
foreseeable future, the person shall so advise the registering official and shall sign a 
statement provided by the registering official stating that fact. Upon presentation of 
proof of residence to the registering official or a signed statement that the person has 
no residence, the person shall be allowed to register. If the person claims that he or she 
has a residence but does not have any proof of residence, he or she shall be allowed to 
register but shall furnish proof of residence within 30 days of the date he or she is 
allowed to register. 
 

California Penal Code Section 290.024 

 

(a) "Internet service provider" means a business, organization, or other entity providing 
a computer and communications facility directly to consumers through which a person 
may obtain access to the Internet. An Internet service provider does not include a 
business, organization, or other entity that provides only telecommunications services, 
cable services, or video services, or any system operated or services offered by a 
library or educational institution. 
 
(b) "Internet identifier" means an electronic mail address, user name, screen name, or 
similar identifier used for the purpose of Internet forum discussions, Internet chat room 
discussions, instant messaging, social networking, or similar Internet communication. 
 
Temporary Restraining Orders, Injunctions and Forfeitures 
 
California Penal Code Section 236.3 
 
Upon conviction of a violation of Section 236.1, if real property is used to facilitate the 
commission of the offense, the procedures for determining whether the property 
constitutes a nuisance and the remedies imposed therefor as provided in Article 2 
(commencing with Section 11225) of Chapter 3 of Title 1 of Part 4 shall apply. 
 
California Penal Code Section 236.5 
 
(a) Within 15 business days of the first encounter with a victim of human trafficking, as 
defined by Section 236.1, law enforcement agencies shall provide brief letters that 
satisfy the following Law Enforcement Agency (LEA) endorsement regulations as found 
in paragraph (1) of subdivision (f) of Section 214.11 of Title 8 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations. 
 
(b) The LEA must be submitted on Supplement B, Declaration of Law Enforcement 
Officer for Victim of Trafficking in Persons, of Form I-914. The LEA endorsement must 

http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=4e4d70378244310c748ba3e9a94a1c97&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bCal%20Pen%20Code%20%a7%20236.5%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=2&_butInline=1&_butinfo=8%20CFR%20214.11&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=4&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLzVzV-zSkAb&_md5=b6472de5aefa6423eb48adbe879d06f6
http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=4e4d70378244310c748ba3e9a94a1c97&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bCal%20Pen%20Code%20%a7%20236.5%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=2&_butInline=1&_butinfo=8%20CFR%20214.11&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=4&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLzVzV-zSkAb&_md5=b6472de5aefa6423eb48adbe879d06f6
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be filled out completely in accordance with the instructions contained on the form and 
must attach the results of any name or database inquiry performed. In order to provide 
persuasive evidence, the LEA endorsement must contain a description of the 
victimization upon which the application is based, including the dates the trafficking in 
persons and victimization occurred, and be signed by a supervising official responsible 
for the investigation or prosecution of trafficking in persons. The LEA endorsement 
must address whether the victim had been recruited, harbored, transported, provided, 
or obtained specifically for either labor or services, or for the purposes of a commercial 
sex act. 
 
(c) Where state law enforcement agencies find the grant of a LEA endorsement to be 
inappropriate for a victim of trafficking in persons, the agency shall within 15 days 
provide the victim with a letter explaining the grounds of the denial of the LEA. The 
victim may submit additional evidence to the law enforcement agency, which must 
reconsider the denial of the LEA within one week of the receipt of additional evidence. 
 
California Penal Code Section 236.6 
 
(a) To prevent dissipation or secreting of assets or property, the prosecuting agency 
may, at the same time as or subsequent to the filing of a complaint or indictment 
charging human trafficking under Section 236.1, file a petition with the criminal division 
of the superior court of the county in which the accusatory pleading was filed, seeking a 
temporary restraining order, preliminary injunction, the appointment of a receiver, or 
any other protective relief necessary to preserve the property or assets. The filing of the 
petition shall start a proceeding that shall be pendent to the criminal proceeding and 
maintained solely to effect the remedies available for this crime, including, but not 
limited to, payment of restitution and payment of fines. The proceeding shall not be 
subject to or governed by the provisions of the Civil Discovery Act as set forth in Title 4 
(commencing with Section 2016.010) of Part 4 of the Code of Civil Procedure. The 
petition shall allege that the defendant has been charged with human trafficking under 
Section 236.1 and shall identify that criminal proceeding and the assets and property to 
be affected by an order issued pursuant to this section. 
 
(b) The prosecuting agency shall, by personal service or registered mail, provide notice 
of the petition to every person who may have an interest in the property specified in the 
petition. Additionally, the notice shall be published for at least three successive weeks 
in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the property affected by the 
order is located. The notice shall state that any interested person may file a verified 
claim with the superior court stating the nature and amount of his or her claimed 
interest. The notice shall set forth the time within which a claim of interest in the 
protected property shall be filed. 
 
(c) If the property to be preserved is real property, the prosecuting agency shall record, 
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at the time of filing the petition, a lis pendens in each county in which the real property 
is situated that specifically identifies the property by legal description, the name of the 
owner of record, as shown on the latest equalized assessment roll, and the assessor's 
parcel number. 
 
(d) If the property to be preserved consists of assets under the control of a banking or 
financial institution, the prosecuting agency, at the time of filing the petition, may obtain 
an order from the court directing the banking or financial institution to immediately 
disclose the account numbers and value of the assets of the accused held by the 
banking or financial institution. The prosecuting agency shall file a supplemental 
petition, specifically identifying which banking or financial institution accounts shall be 
subject to a temporary restraining order, preliminary injunction, or other protective 
remedy. 
 
(e) A person claiming an interest in the protected property or assets may, at any time 
within 30 days from the date of the first publication of the notice of the petition, or within 
30 days after receipt of actual notice, whichever is later, file with the superior court of 
the county in which the action is pending a verified claim stating the nature and amount 
of his or her interest in the property or assets. A verified copy of the claim shall be 
served by the claimant on the Attorney General or district attorney, as appropriate. 
 
(f) Concurrent with or subsequent to the filing of the petition, the prosecuting agency 
may move the superior court for, and the superior court may issue, any of the following 
pendente lite orders to preserve the status quo of the property or assets alleged in the 
petition: 
 
  (1) An injunction to restrain any person from transferring, encumbering, hypothecating, 
or otherwise disposing of the property or assets. 
 
  (2) Appointment of a receiver to take possession of, care for, manage, and operate 
the assets and properties so that they may be maintained and preserved. The court 
may order that a receiver appointed pursuant to this section shall be compensated for 
all reasonable expenditures made or incurred by him or her in connection with the 
possession, care, management, and operation of property or assets that are subject to 
the provisions of this section. 
 
  (3) Requiring a bond or other undertaking, in lieu of other orders, of a value sufficient 
to ensure the satisfaction of restitution and fines imposed pursuant to Section 236.1. 
 
(g) The following procedures shall be followed in processing the petition: 
 
  (1) No preliminary injunction shall be granted or receiver appointed without notice to 
the interested parties and a hearing to determine that the order is necessary to 
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preserve the property or assets, pending the outcome of the criminal proceedings. 
However, a temporary restraining order may be issued pending that hearing pursuant 
to the provisions of Section 527 of the Code of Civil Procedure. The temporary 
restraining order may be based upon the sworn declaration of a peace officer with 
personal knowledge of the criminal investigation that establishes probable cause to 
believe that human trafficking has taken place and that the amount of restitution and 
fines established pursuant to subdivision (f) exceeds or equals the worth of the property 
or assets subject to the temporary restraining order. The declaration may include the 
hearsay statements of witnesses to establish the necessary facts. The temporary 
restraining order may be issued without notice upon a showing of good cause to the 
court. 
 
 (2) The defendant, or a person who has filed a verified claim, shall have the right to 
have the court conduct an order to show cause hearing within 10 days of the service of 
the request for a hearing upon the prosecuting agency, in order to determine whether 
the temporary restraining order should remain in effect, whether relief should be 
granted from a lis pendens recorded pursuant to subdivision (c), or whether an existing 
order should be modified in the interests of justice. Upon a showing of good cause, the 
hearing shall be held within two days of the service of the request for a hearing upon 
the prosecuting agency. 
 
  (3) In determining whether to issue a preliminary injunction or temporary restraining 
order in a proceeding brought by a prosecuting agency in conjunction with or 
subsequent to the filing of an allegation pursuant to this section, the court has the 
discretion to consider any matter that it deems reliable and appropriate, including 
hearsay statements, in order to reach a just and equitable decision. The court shall 
weigh the relative degree of certainty of the outcome on the merits and the 
consequences to each of the parties of granting the interim relief. If the prosecution is 
likely to prevail on the merits and the risk of the dissipation of assets outweighs the 
potential harm to the defendants and the interested parties, the court shall grant 
injunctive relief. The court shall give significant weight to the following factors: 
 
    (A) The public interest in preserving the property or assets pendente lite. 
 
    (B) The difficulty of preserving the property or assets pendente lite where the 
underlying alleged crimes involve human trafficking. 
 
    (C) The fact that the requested relief is being sought by a public prosecutor on behalf 
of alleged victims of human trafficking. 
 
    (D) The likelihood that substantial public harm has occurred where the human 
trafficking is alleged to have been committed. 
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    (E) The significant public interest involved in compensating victims of human 
trafficking and paying court-imposed restitution and fines. 
 
  (4) The court, in making its orders, may consider a defendant's request for the release 
of a portion of the property affected by this section in order to pay reasonable legal fees 
in connection with the criminal proceeding, necessary and appropriate living expenses 
pending trial and sentencing, and for the purpose of posting bail. The court shall weigh 
the needs of the public to retain the property against the needs of the defendant to a 
portion of the property. The court shall consider the factors listed in paragraph (3) prior 
to making an order releasing property for these purposes. 
 
  (5) The court, in making its orders, shall seek to protect the interests of innocent third 
parties, including an innocent spouse, who were not involved in the commission of 
criminal activity. 
 
  (6) The orders shall be no more extensive than necessary to effect the remedies 
available for the crime. In determining the amount of property to be held, the court shall 
ascertain the amount of fines that are assessed for a violation of this chapter and the 
amount of possible restitution. 
 
  (7) A petition filed pursuant to this section is part of the criminal proceedings for 
purposes of appointment of counsel and shall be assigned to the criminal division of the 
superior court of the county in which the accusatory pleading was filed. 
 
  (8) Based upon a noticed motion brought by the receiver appointed pursuant to 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (f), the court may order an interlocutory sale of property 
named in the petition when the property is liable to perish, to waste, or to be 
significantly reduced in value, or when the expenses of maintaining the property are 
disproportionate to the value of the property. The proceeds of the interlocutory sale 
shall be deposited with the court or as directed by the court pending determination of 
the proceeding pursuant to this section. 
 
  (9) The court may make any orders that are necessary to preserve the continuing 
viability of a lawful business enterprise that is affected by the issuance of a temporary 
restraining order or preliminary injunction issued pursuant to this section. 
 
  (10) In making its orders, the court shall seek to prevent the property or asset subject 
to a temporary restraining order or preliminary injunction from perishing, spoiling, going 
to waste, or otherwise being significantly reduced in value. Where the potential for 
diminution in value exists, the court shall appoint a receiver to dispose of or otherwise 
protect the value of the property or asset. 
 
  (11) A preservation order shall not be issued against an asset of a business that is not 
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likely to be dissipated and that may be subject to levy or attachment to meet the 
purposes of this section. 
 
(h) If the allegation of human trafficking is dismissed or found by the trier of fact to be 
untrue, a preliminary injunction or temporary restraining order issued pursuant to this 
section shall be dissolved. If a jury is the trier of fact, and the jury is unable to reach a 
unanimous verdict, the court shall have the discretion to continue or dissolve all or a 
portion of the preliminary injunction or temporary restraining order based upon the 
interests of justice. However, if the prosecuting agency elects not to retry the case, a 
preliminary injunction or temporary restraining order issued pursuant to this section 
shall be dissolved. 
 
(i)(1)(A) If the defendant is convicted of human trafficking, the trial judge shall continue 
the preliminary injunction or temporary restraining order until the date of the criminal 
sentencing and shall make a finding at that time as to what portion, if any, of the 
property or assets subject to the preliminary injunction or temporary restraining order 
shall be levied upon to pay fines and restitution to victims of the crime. The order 
imposing fines and restitution may exceed the total worth of the property or assets 
subjected to the preliminary injunction or temporary restraining order. The court may 
order the immediate transfer of the property or assets to satisfy a restitution order 
issued pursuant to Section 1202.4 and a fine imposed pursuant to this chapter. 
 
    (B) If the execution of judgment is stayed pending an appeal of an order of the 
superior court pursuant to this section, the preliminary injunction or temporary 
restraining order shall be maintained in full force and effect during the pendency of the 
appellate period. 
 
  (2) The order imposing fines and restitution shall not affect the interest in real property 
of a third party that was acquired prior to the recording of the lis pendens, unless the 
property was obtained from the defendant other than as a bona fide purchaser for 
value. If any assets or property affected by this section are subject to a valid lien, 
mortgage, security interest, or interest under a conditional sales contract and the 
amount due to the holder of the lien, mortgage, interest, or contract is less than the 
appraised value of the property, that person may pay to the state or the local 
government that initiated the proceeding the amount of the difference between the 
appraised value of the property and the amount of the lien, mortgage, security interest, 
or interest under a conditional sales contract. Upon that payment, the state or local 
entity shall relinquish all claims to the property. If the holder of the interest elects not to 
make that payment to the state or local governmental entity, the interest in the property 
shall be deemed transferred to the state or local governmental entity and any indicia of 
ownership of the property shall be confirmed in the state or local governmental entity. 
The appraised value shall be determined as of the date judgment is entered either by 
agreement between the holder of the lien, mortgage, security interest, or interest under 
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a conditional sales contract and the governmental entity involved or, if they cannot 
agree, then by a court-appointed appraiser for the county in which the action is brought. 
A person holding a valid lien, mortgage, security interest, or interest under a conditional 
sales contract shall be paid the appraised value of his or her interest. 
 
  (3) In making its final order, the court shall seek to protect the legitimately acquired 
interests of innocent third parties, including an innocent spouse, who were not involved 
in the commission of criminal activity. 
 
(j) In all cases where property is to be levied upon pursuant to this section, a receiver 
appointed by the court shall be empowered to liquidate all property or assets, which 
shall be distributed in the following order of priority: 
 
  (1) To the receiver, or court-appointed appraiser, for all reasonable expenditures 
made or incurred by him or her in connection with the sale of the property or liquidation 
of assets, including all reasonable expenditures for necessary repairs, storage, or 
transportation of property levied upon under this section. 
 
  (2) To a holder of a valid lien, mortgage, or security interest, up to the amount of his or 
her interest in the property or proceeds. 
 
  (3) To a victim as restitution for human trafficking that was alleged in the accusatory 
pleading and that was proven by the prosecution. 
 
  (4) For payment of a fine imposed. The proceeds obtained in payment of a fine shall 
be paid in the manner set forth in subdivision (h) of Section 236.1. 
 
California Penal Code Section 236.7 
 
(a) Any interest in a vehicle, boat, airplane, money, negotiable instruments, securities, 
real property, or other thing of value that was put to substantial use for the purpose of 
facilitating the crime of human trafficking that involves a commercial sex act, as defined 
in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 236.1, where the victim was less than 18 
years of age at the time of the commission of the crime, may be seized and ordered 
forfeited by the court upon the conviction of a person guilty of human trafficking that 
involves a commercial sex act where the victim is an individual under 18 years of age, 
pursuant to Section 236.1. 
 
(b) In any case in which a defendant is convicted of human trafficking pursuant to 
Section 236.1 and an allegation is found to be true that the victim was a person under 
18 years of age and the crime involved a commercial sex act, as defined in paragraph 
(2) of subdivision (g) of Section 236.1, the following assets shall be subject to forfeiture 
upon proof of the provisions of subdivision (d) of Section 236.9: 
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  (1) Any property interest, whether tangible or intangible, acquired through human 
trafficking that involves a commercial sex act where the victim was less than 18 years 
of age at the time of the commission of the crime. 
 
  (2) All proceeds from human trafficking that involves a commercial sex act where the 
victim was less than 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the crime, which 
property shall include all things of value that may have been received in exchange for 
the proceeds immediately derived from the act. 
 
(c) If a prosecuting agency petitions for forfeiture of an interest under subdivision (a) or 
(b), the process prescribed in Sections 236.8 to 236.12, inclusive, shall apply, but no 
local or state prosecuting agency shall be required to petition for forfeiture in any case. 
 
(d) Real property that is used as a family residence or for other lawful purposes, or that 
is owned by two or more persons, one of whom had no knowledge of its unlawful use, 
shall not be subject to forfeiture. 
 
(e) An interest in a vehicle that may be lawfully driven with a class C, class M1, or class 
M2 license, as prescribed in Section 12804.9 of the Vehicle Code, may not be forfeited 
under this section if there is a community property interest in the vehicle by a person 
other than the defendant and the vehicle is the sole vehicle of this type available to the 
defendant's immediate family. 
 
(f) Real property subject to forfeiture may not be seized, absent exigent circumstances, 
without notice to the interested parties and a hearing to determine that seizure is 
necessary to preserve the property pending the outcome of the proceedings. At the 
hearing, the prosecution shall bear the burden of establishing that probable cause 
exists for the forfeiture of the property and that seizure is necessary to preserve the 
property pending the outcome of the forfeiture proceedings. The court may issue a 
seizure order pursuant to this section if it finds that seizure is warranted or a pendente 
lite order pursuant to Section 236.10 if it finds that the status quo or value of the 
property can be preserved without seizure. 
 
(g) For purposes of this section, no allegation or proof of a pattern of criminal 
profiteering activity is required. 
 
California Penal Code Section 236.8 
 
(a) If the prosecuting agency, in conjunction with the criminal proceeding, files a petition 
of forfeiture with the superior court of the county in which the defendant has been 
charged with human trafficking that involves a commercial sex act, as defined in 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 236.1, where the victim was less than 18 
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years of age at the time of the commission of the crime, the prosecuting agency shall 
make service of process of a notice regarding that petition upon every individual who 
may have a property interest in the alleged proceeds or instruments. The notice shall 
state that any interested party may file a verified claim with the superior court stating 
the amount of their claimed interest and an affirmation or denial of the prosecuting 
agency's allegation. If the notice cannot be given by registered mail or personal 
delivery, the notice shall be published for at least three successive weeks in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the county where the property is located. If the 
property alleged to be subject to forfeiture is real property, the prosecuting agency 
shall, at the time of filing the petition of forfeiture, record a lis pendens with the county 
recorder in each county in which the real property is situated that specifically identifies 
the real property alleged to be subject to forfeiture. The judgment of forfeiture shall not 
affect the interest in real property of a third party that was acquired prior to the 
recording of the lis pendens. 
 
(b) All notices shall set forth the time within which a claim of interest in the property 
seized is required to be filed pursuant to Section 236.9. 
 
California Penal Code Section 236.9 
 
(a) A person claiming an interest in the property, proceeds, or instruments may, at any 
time within 30 days from the date of the first publication of the notice of seizure or within 
30 days after receipt of actual notice, file with the superior court of the county in which 
the action is pending a verified claim stating his or her interest in the property, 
proceeds, or instruments. A verified copy of the claim shall be given by the claimant to 
the Attorney General or district attorney, as appropriate. 
 
(b)(1) If, at the end of the time set forth in subdivision (a), an interested person, other 
than the defendant, has not filed a claim, the court, upon motion, shall declare that the 
person has defaulted upon his or her alleged interest and the interest shall be subject 
to forfeiture upon proof of the provisions of subdivision (d). 
 
  (2) The defendant may admit or deny that the property is subject to forfeiture pursuant 
to the provisions of this chapter. If the defendant fails to admit or deny or to file a claim 
of interest in the property, proceeds, or instruments, the court shall enter a response of 
denial on behalf of the defendant. 
 
(c)(1) The forfeiture proceeding shall be set for hearing in the superior court in which 
the underlying criminal offense will be tried. 
 
  (2) If the defendant is found guilty of the underlying offense, the issue of forfeiture 
shall be promptly tried, either before the same jury or before a new jury in the discretion 
of the court, unless waived by the consent of all parties. 
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(d) At the forfeiture hearing, the prosecuting agency shall have the burden of 
establishing beyond a reasonable doubt that the property alleged in the petition comes 
within the provisions of Section 236.7. 
 
(e) Unless the trier of fact finds that the seized property was used for a purpose for 
which forfeiture is permitted, the court shall order the seized property released to the 
person that the court determines is entitled to possession of that property. If the trier of 
fact finds that the seized property was used for a purpose for which forfeiture is 
permitted, but does not find that a person who has a valid interest in the property had 
actual knowledge that the property would be or was used for a purpose for which 
forfeiture is permitted and consented to that use, the court shall order the property 
released to the claimant. 
 
California Penal Code Section 236.10 
 
(a) Concurrent with or subsequent to the filing of the petition, the prosecuting agency 
may move the superior court for, and the superior court may issue, the following 
pendente lite orders to preserve the status quo of the property alleged in the petition: 
 
  (1) An injunction to restrain anyone from transferring, encumbering, hypothecating, or 
otherwise disposing of the property. 
 
  (2) Appointment of a receiver to take possession of, care for, manage, and operate 
the assets and properties so that the property may be maintained and preserved. The 
court may order that a receiver appointed pursuant to this section be compensated for 
all reasonable expenditures made or incurred by him or her in connection with the 
possession, care, management, and operation of property or assets that are subject to 
the provisions of this section. 
 
(b) No preliminary injunction may be granted or receiver appointed without notice to the 
interested parties and a hearing to determine that an order is necessary to preserve the 
property, pending the outcome of the criminal proceedings, and that there is probable 
cause to believe that the property alleged in the forfeiture proceedings are proceeds, 
instruments, or property interests forfeitable under the provisions of Section 236.7. 
However, a temporary restraining order may issue pending that hearing pursuant to the 
provisions of Section 527 of the Code of Civil Procedure. 
 
(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the court in granting these motions may 
order a surety bond or undertaking to preserve the property interests of the interested 
parties. 
 
(d) The court shall, in making its orders, seek to protect the interests of those who may 
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be involved in the same enterprise as the defendant, but who were not involved in 
human trafficking that involves a commercial sex act, as defined in paragraph (2) of 
subdivision (g) of Section 236.1, where the victim was less than 18 years of age at the 
time of the commission of the crime. 
 
California Penal Code Section 236.11 
 
(a) If the trier of fact at the forfeiture hearing finds that the alleged property, 
instruments, or proceeds are forfeitable pursuant to Section 236.7 and the defendant 
was engaged in human trafficking that involves a commercial sex act, as defined in 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 236.1, where the victim was less than 18 
years of age at the time of the commission of the crime, the court shall declare that 
property or proceeds forfeited to the state or local governmental entity, subject to 
distribution as provided in Section 236.12. No property solely owned by a bona fide 
purchaser for value shall be subject to forfeiture. 
 
(b) If the trier of fact at the forfeiture hearing finds that the alleged property is forfeitable 
pursuant to Section 236.7 but does not find that a person holding a valid lien, mortgage, 
security interest, or interest under a conditional sales contract acquired that interest 
with actual knowledge that the property was to be used for a purpose for which 
forfeiture is permitted, and the amount due to that person is less than the appraised 
value of the property, that person may pay to the state or the local governmental entity 
that initiated the forfeiture proceeding the amount of the registered owner's equity, 
which shall be deemed to be the difference between the appraised value and the 
amount of the lien, mortgage, security interest, or interest under a conditional sales 
contract. Upon payment, the state or local governmental entity shall relinquish all 
claims to the property. If the holder of the interest elects not to pay the state or local 
governmental entity, the property shall be deemed forfeited to the state or local 
governmental entity and the ownership certificate shall be forwarded. The appraised 
value shall be determined as of the date judgment is entered either by agreement 
between the legal owner and the governmental entity involved, or, if they cannot agree, 
by a court-appointed appraiser for the county in which the action is brought. A person 
holding a valid lien, mortgage, security interest, or interest under a conditional sales 
contract shall be paid the appraised value of his or her interest. 
 
(c) If the amount due to a person holding a valid lien, mortgage, security interest, or 
interest under a conditional sales contract is less than the value of the property and the 
person elects not to make payment to the governmental entity, the property shall be 
sold at public auction by the Department of General Services or by the local 
governmental entity. The seller shall provide notice of the sale by one publication in a 
newspaper published and circulated in the city, community, or locality where the sale is 
to take place. 
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(d) Notwithstanding subdivision (c), a county may dispose of real property forfeited to 
the county pursuant to this chapter by the process prescribed in Section 25538.5 of the 
Government Code. 
 
California Penal Code Section 236.12 
 
Notwithstanding that no response or claim has been filed pursuant to Section 236.9, in 
all cases where property is forfeited pursuant to this chapter and, if necessary, sold by 
the Department of General Services or local governmental entity, the money forfeited or 
the proceeds of sale shall be distributed by the state or local governmental entity as 
follows: 
 
 (a) To the bona fide or innocent purchaser, conditional sales vendor, or holder of a 
valid lien, mortgage, or security interest, if any, up to the amount of his or her interest in 
the property or proceeds, when the court declaring the forfeiture orders a distribution to 
that person. The court shall endeavor to discover all those lienholders and protect their 
interests and may, at its discretion, order the proceeds placed in escrow for up to an 
additional 60 days to ensure that all valid claims are received and processed. 
 
 (b) To the Department of General Services or local governmental entity for all 
expenditures made or incurred by it in connection with the sale of the property, 
including expenditures for necessary repairs, storage, or transportation of property 
seized under this chapter. 
 
 (c)(1) Fifty percent to the General Fund of the state or local governmental entity, 
whichever prosecutes or handles the forfeiture hearing. 
 
    (2) Fifty percent to the Victim-Witness Assistance Fund to be used upon 
appropriation for grants to community-based organizations that serve victims of human 
trafficking. 
 

Civil Action 
 
California Civil Code Section 52.5 
 
(a) A victim of human trafficking, as defined in Section 236.1 of the Penal Code, may 
bring a civil action for actual damages, compensatory damages, punitive damages, 
injunctive relief, any combination of those, or any other appropriate relief. A prevailing 
plaintiff may also be awarded attorney's fees and costs. 
 
(b) In addition to the remedies specified herein, in any action under subdivision (a), the 
plaintiff may be awarded up to three times his or her actual damages or ten thousand 
dollars ($10,000), whichever is greater. In addition, punitive damages may also be 
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awarded upon proof of the defendant's malice, oppression, fraud, or duress in 
committing the act of human trafficking. 
 
(c) An action brought pursuant to this section shall be commenced within five years of 
the date on which the trafficking victim was freed from the trafficking situation, or if the 
victim was a minor when the act of human trafficking against the victim occurred, within 
eight years after the date the plaintiff attains the age of majority. 
 
(d) If a person entitled to sue is under a disability at the time the cause of action 
accrues, so that it is impossible or impracticable for him or her to bring an action, then 
the time of the disability is not part of the time limited for the commencement of the 
action. Disability will toll the running of the statute of limitation for this action. 
 
  (1) Disability includes being a minor, insanity, imprisonment, or other incapacity or 
incompetence. 
 
  (2) The statute of limitations shall not run against an incompetent or minor plaintiff 
simply because a guardian ad litem has been appointed. A guardian ad litem's failure to 
bring a plaintiff's action within the applicable limitation period will not prejudice the 
plaintiff's right to do so after his or her disability ceases. 
 
  (3) A defendant is estopped to assert a defense of the statute of limitations when the 
expiration of the statute is due to conduct by the defendant inducing the plaintiff to 
delay the filing of the action, or due to threats made by the defendant causing duress 
upon the plaintiff. 
 
  (4) The suspension of the statute of limitations due to disability, lack of knowledge, or 
estoppel applies to all other related claims arising out of the trafficking situation. 
 
  (5) The running of the statute of limitations is postponed during the pendency of any 
criminal proceedings against the victim. 
 
(e) The running of the statute of limitations may be suspended where a person entitled 
to sue could not have reasonably discovered the cause of action due to circumstances 
resulting from the trafficking situation, such as psychological trauma, cultural and 
linguistic isolation, and the inability to access services. 
 
(f) A prevailing plaintiff may also be awarded reasonable attorney's fees and litigation 
costs including, but not limited to, expert witness fees and expenses as part of the 
costs. 
 
(g) Any restitution paid by the defendant to the victim shall be credited against any 
judgment, award, or settlement obtained pursuant to this section. Any judgment, award, 
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or settlement obtained pursuant to an action under this section shall be subject to the 
provisions of Section 13963 of the Government Code. 
 
(h) Any civil action filed under this section shall be stayed during the pendency of any 
criminal action arising out of the same occurrence in which the claimant is the victim. 
As used in this section, a "criminal action" includes investigation and prosecution, and 
is pending until a final adjudication in the trial court, or dismissal. 
 

Protection for Human Trafficking Victims 
 
California Penal Code Section 293 

(a) Any employee of a law enforcement agency who personally receives a report from 
any person, alleging that the person making the report has been the victim of a sex 
offense, or was forced to commit an act of prostitution because he or she is the victim 
of human trafficking, as defined in Section 236.1, shall inform that person that his or her 
name will become a matter of public record unless he or she requests that it not 
become a matter of public record, pursuant to Section 6254 of the Government Code. 

(b) Any written report of an alleged sex offense shall indicate that the alleged victim has 
been properly informed pursuant to subdivision (a) and shall memorialize his or her 
response. 

(c) No law enforcement agency shall disclose to any person, except the prosecutor, 
parole officers of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, hearing officers of 
the parole authority, probation officers of county probation departments, or other 
persons or public agencies where authorized or required by law, the address of a 
person who alleges to be the victim of a sex offense or who was forced to commit an 
act of prostitution because he or she is the victim of human trafficking, as defined in 
Section 236.1. 

(d) No law enforcement agency shall disclose to any person, except the prosecutor, 
parole officers of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, hearing officers of 
the parole authority, probation officers of county probation departments, or other 
persons or public agencies where authorized or required by law, the name of a person 
who alleges to be the victim of a sex offense or who was forced to commit an act of 
prostitution because he or she is the victim of human trafficking, as defined in Section 
236.1, if that person has elected to exercise his or her right pursuant to this section and 
Section 6254 of the Government Code. 

(e) For purposes of this section, sex offense means any crime listed in paragraph (2) of 
subdivision (f) of Section 6254 of the Government Code. 
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(f) Parole officers of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation and hearing 
officers of the parole authority, and probation officers of county probation departments, 
shall be entitled to receive information pursuant to subdivisions (c) and (d) only if the 
person to whom the information pertains alleges that he or she is the victim of a sex 
offense or was forced to commit an act of prostitution because he or she is the victim of 
human trafficking, as defined in Section 236.1, the alleged perpetrator of which is a  

parolee who is alleged to have committed the offense while on parole, or in the case of 
a county probation officer, the person who is alleged to have committed the offense is a 
probationer or is under investigation by a county probation department. 

California Government Code Section 6254   

Records exempt from disclosure requirements 
 
Except as provided in Sections 6254.7 and 6254.13, nothing in this chapter shall be 
construed to require disclosure of records that are any of the following: 
 
   (f) Records of complaints to, or investigations conducted by, or records of intelligence 
information or security procedures of, the office of the Attorney General and the 
Department of Justice, the Office of Emergency Services, and any state or local police 
agency, or any investigatory or security files compiled by any other state or local police 
agency, or any investigatory or security files compiled by any other state or local 
agency for correctional, law enforcement, or licensing purposes. However, state and 
local law enforcement agencies shall disclose the names and addresses of persons 
involved in, or witnesses other than confidential informants to, the incident, the 
description of any property involved, the date, time, and location of the incident, all 
diagrams, statements of the parties involved in the incident, the statements of all 
witnesses, other than confidential informants, to the victims of an incident, or an 
authorized representative thereof, an insurance carrier against which a claim has been 
or might be made, and any person suffering bodily injury or property damage or loss, as 
the result of the incident caused by arson, burglary, fire, explosion, larceny, robbery, 
carjacking, vandalism, vehicle theft, or a crime as defined by subdivision (b) of Section 
13951, unless the disclosure would endanger the safety of a witness or other person 
involved in the investigation, or unless disclosure would endanger the successful 
completion of the investigation or a related investigation. However, nothing in this 
division shall require the disclosure of that portion of those investigative files that 
reflects the analysis or conclusions of the investigating officer. 
 
   Customer lists provided to a state or local police agency by an alarm or security 
company at the request of the agency shall be construed to be records subject to this 
subdivision. 
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   Notwithstanding any other provision of this subdivision, state and local law 
enforcement agencies shall make public the following information, except to the extent 
that disclosure of a particular item of information would endanger the safety of a person 
involved in an investigation or would endanger the successful completion of the 
investigation or a related investigation: 
 
   (1) The full name and occupation of every individual arrested by the agency, the 
individual's physical description including date of birth, color of eyes and hair, sex, 
height and weight, the time and date of arrest, the time and date of booking, the 
location of the arrest, the factual circumstances surrounding the arrest, the amount of 
bail set, the time and manner of release or the location where the individual is currently 
being held, and all charges the individual is being held upon, including any outstanding 
warrants from other jurisdictions and parole or probation holds. 
 
   (2) Subject to the restrictions imposed by Section 841.5 of the Penal Code, the time, 
substance, and location of all complaints or requests for assistance received by the 
agency and the time and nature of the response thereto, including, to the extent the 
information regarding crimes alleged or committed or any other incident investigated is 
recorded, the time, date, and location of occurrence, the time and date of the report, the 
name and age of the victim, the factual circumstances surrounding the crime or 
incident, and a general description of any injuries, property, or weapons involved. The 
name of a victim of any crime defined by Section 220, 236.1, 261, 261.5, 262, 264, 
264.1, 265, 266, 266a, 266b, 266c, 266e, 266f, 266j, 267, 269, 273a, 273d, 273.5, 285, 
286, 288, 288a, 288.2, 288.3 (as added by Chapter 337 of the Statutes of 2006), 288.3 
(as added by Section 6 of Proposition 83 of the November 7, 2006, statewide general 
election), 288.5, 288.7, 289, 422.6, 422.7, 422.75, 646.9, or 647.6 of the Penal Code 
may be withheld at the victim's request, or at the request of the victim's parent or 
guardian if the victim is a minor. When a person is the victim of more than one crime, 
information disclosing that the person is a victim of a crime defined in any of the 
sections of the Penal Code set forth in this subdivision may be deleted at the request of 
the victim, or the victim's parent or guardian if the victim is a minor, in making the report 
of the crime, or of any crime or incident accompanying the crime, available to the public 
in compliance with the requirements of this paragraph. 
 
   (3) Subject to the restrictions of Section 841.5 of the Penal Code and this subdivision, 
the current address of every individual arrested by the agency and the current address 
of the victim of a crime, where the requester declares under penalty of perjury that the 
request is made for a scholarly, journalistic, political, or governmental purpose, or that 
the request is made for investigation purposes by a licensed private investigator as 
described in Chapter 11.3 (commencing with Section 7512) of Division 3 of the 
Business and Professions Code. However, the address of the victim of any crime 
defined by Section 220, 236.1, 261, 261.5, 262, 264, 264.1, 265, 266, 266a, 266b, 
266c, 266e, 266f, 266j, 267, 269, 273a, 273d, 273.5, 285, 286, 288, 288a, 288.2, 288.3 
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(as added by Chapter 337 of the Statutes of 2006), 288.3 (as added by Section 6 of 
Proposition 83 of the November 7, 2006, statewide general election), 288.5, 288.7, 289, 
422.6, 422.7, 422.75, 646.9, or 647.6 of the Penal Code shall remain confidential. 
Address information obtained pursuant to this paragraph may not be used directly or 
indirectly, or furnished to another, to sell a product or service to any individual or group 
of individuals, and the requester shall execute a declaration to that effect under penalty 
of perjury. Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to prohibit or limit a scholarly, 
journalistic, political, or government use of address information obtained pursuant to 
this paragraph. 
 
California Evidence Code Section 1038 

 
(a) A trafficking victim, whether or not a party to the action, has a privilege to refuse to 
disclose, and to prevent another from disclosing, a confidential communication between 
the victim and a human trafficking caseworker if the privilege is claimed by any of the 
following persons: 
 
  (1) The holder of the privilege. 
 
  (2) A person who is authorized to claim the privilege by the holder of the privilege. 
 
  (3) The person who was the human trafficking caseworker at the time of the 
confidential communication. However, that person may not claim the privilege if there is 
no holder of the privilege in existence or if he or she is otherwise instructed by a person 
authorized to permit disclosure. The human trafficking caseworker who received or 
made a communication subject to the privilege granted by this article shall claim the 
privilege whenever he or she is present when the communication is sought to be 
disclosed and he or she is authorized to claim the privilege under this section. 
 
(b) A human trafficking caseworker shall inform a trafficking victim of any applicable 
limitations on confidentiality of communications between the victim and the caseworker. 
This information may be given orally. 
 

California Evidence Code Section 1038.1 
 
(a) The court may compel disclosure of information received by a human trafficking 
caseworker that constitutes relevant evidence of the facts and circumstances involving 
a crime allegedly perpetrated against the victim and that is the subject of a criminal 
proceeding, if the court determines that the probative value of the information 
outweighs the effect of disclosure of the information on the victim, the counseling 
relationship, and the counseling services. The court may compel disclosure if the victim 
is either dead or not the complaining witness in a criminal action against the 
perpetrator. 
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(b) When a court rules on a claim of privilege under this article, it may require the 
person from whom disclosure is sought or the person authorized to claim the privilege, 
or both, to disclose the information in chambers out of the presence and hearing of all 
persons except the person authorized to claim the privilege and those other persons 
that the person authorized to claim the privilege consents to have present. 
 
(c) If the judge determines that the information is privileged and shall not be disclosed, 
neither he nor she nor any other person may disclose, without the consent of a person 
authorized to permit disclosure, any information disclosed in the course of the 
proceedings in chambers. If the court determines that information shall be disclosed, 
the court shall so order and inform the defendant in the criminal action. If the court finds 
there is a reasonable likelihood that any information is subject to disclosure pursuant to 
the balancing test provided in this section, the procedure specified in paragraphs (1), 
(2), and (3) of Section 1035.4 shall be followed. 
 
California Evidence Code Section 1038.2 
 
(a) As used in this article, "victim" means any person who is a "trafficking victim" as 
defined in Section 236.1. 
 
(b) As used in this article, "human trafficking caseworker" means any of the following: 
 
  (1) A person who is employed by any organization providing the programs specified in 
Section 18294 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, whether financially compensated 
or not, for the purpose of rendering advice or assistance to victims of human trafficking, 
who has received specialized training in the counseling of human trafficking victims, 
and who meets one of the following requirements: 
 
    (A) Has a master's degree in counseling or a related field; or has one year of 
counseling experience, at least six months of which is in the counseling of human 
trafficking victims. 
 
    (B) Has at least 40 hours of training as specified in this paragraph and is supervised 
by an individual who qualifies as a counselor under subparagraph (A), or is a 
psychotherapist, as defined in Section 1010. The training, supervised by a person 
qualified under subparagraph (A), shall include, but need not be limited to, the following 
areas: history of human trafficking, civil and criminal law as it relates to human 
trafficking, societal attitudes towards human trafficking, peer counseling techniques, 
housing, public assistance and other financial resources available to meet the financial 
needs of human trafficking victims, and referral services available to human trafficking 
victims. A portion of this training must include an explanation of privileged 
communication. 
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  (2) A person who is employed by any organization providing the programs specified in 
Section 13835.2 of the Penal Code, whether financially compensated or not, for the 
purpose of counseling and assisting human trafficking victims, and who meets one of 
the following requirements: 
 
    (A) Is a psychotherapist as defined in Section 1010, has a master's degree in 
counseling or a related field, or has one year of counseling experience, at least six 
months of which is in rape assault counseling. 
 
    (B) Has the minimum training for human trafficking counseling required by guidelines 
established by the employing agency pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 13835.10 of 
the Penal Code, and is supervised by an individual who qualifies as a counselor under 
subparagraph (A). The training, supervised by a person qualified under subparagraph 
(A), shall include, but not be limited to, law, victimology, counseling techniques, client 
and system advocacy, and referral services. A portion of this training must include an 
explanation of privileged communication. 
 
(c) As used in this article, "confidential communication" means information transmitted 
between the victim and the caseworker in the course of their relationship and in 
confidence by a means which, so far as the victim is aware, discloses the information to 
no third persons other than those who are present to further the interests of the victim 
in the consultation or those to whom disclosures are reasonably necessary for the 
transmission of the information or an accomplishment of the purposes for which the 
human trafficking counselor is consulted. It includes all information regarding the facts 
and circumstances involving all incidences of human trafficking. 
 
(d) As used in this article, "holder of the privilege" means the victim when he or she has 
no guardian or conservator, or a guardian or conservator of the victim when the victim 
has a guardian or conservator. 
 
California Evidence Code Section 1161 
 
(a) Evidence that a victim of human trafficking, as defined in Section 236.1 of the Penal 
Code, has engaged in any commercial sexual act as a result of being a victim of human 
trafficking is inadmissible to prove the victim's criminal liability for any conduct related to 
that activity. 
 
(b) Evidence of sexual history or history of any commercial sexual act of a victim of 
human trafficking, as defined in Section 236.1 of the Penal Code, is inadmissible to 
attack the credibility or impeach the character of the victim in any civil or criminal 
proceeding. 
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California Government Code Section 13956  
 
Notwithstanding Section 13955, a person shall not be eligible for compensation under 
the following conditions: 
 
  (a) An application shall be denied if the board finds that the victim or, where 
compensation is sought by or on behalf of a derivative victim, either the victim or 
derivative victim, knowingly and willingly participated in the commission of the crime 
that resulted in the pecuniary loss for which compensation is being sought pursuant to 
this chapter. However, this subdivision shall not apply if the injury or death occurred as 
a direct result of a crime committed in violation of Section 261, 262, or 273.5 of, or a 
crime of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor committed in violation of subdivision 
(d) of Section 261.5, of the Penal Code. 
 
  (b)(1) An application shall be denied if the board finds that the victim or, where 
compensation is sought by, or on behalf of, a derivative victim, either the victim or 
derivative victim failed to cooperate reasonably with a law enforcement agency in the 
apprehension and conviction of a criminal committing the crime. However, in 
determining whether cooperation has been reasonable, the board shall consider the 
victim's or derivative victim's age, physical condition, and psychological state, cultural 
or linguistic barriers, any compelling health and safety concerns, including, but not 
limited to, a reasonable fear of retaliation or harm that would jeopardize the well-being 
of the victim or the victim's family or the derivative victim or the derivative victim's 
family, and giving due consideration to the degree of cooperation of which the victim or 
derivative victim is capable in light of the presence of any of these factors. 
 
    (2) An application for a claim based on domestic violence may not be denied solely 
because no police report was made by the victim. The board shall adopt guidelines that 
allow the board to consider and approve applications for assistance based on domestic 
violence relying upon evidence other than a police report to establish that a domestic 
violence crime has occurred. Factors evidencing that a domestic violence crime has 
occurred may include, but are not limited to, medical records documenting injuries 
consistent with allegations of domestic violence, mental health records, or the fact that 
the victim has obtained a temporary or permanent restraining order, or all of these. 
 
    (3) An application for a claim based on human trafficking as defined in Section 236.1 
of the Penal Code may not be denied solely because no police report was made by the 
victim. The board shall adopt guidelines that allow the board to consider and approve 
applications for assistance based on human trafficking relying upon evidence other 
than a police report to establish that a human trafficking crime as defined in Section 
236.1 has occurred. That evidence may include any reliable corroborating information 
approved by the board, including, but not limited to, the following: 
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       (A) A Law Enforcement Agency Endorsement issued pursuant to Section 236.2 of 
the Penal Code. 
 
       (B) A human trafficking caseworker as identified in Section 1038.2 of the Evidence 
Code, has attested by affidavit that the individual was a victim of human trafficking. 
  

  (c) An application for compensation may be denied, in whole or in part, if the board 
finds that denial is appropriate because of the nature of the victim's or other applicant's 
involvement in the events leading to the crime or the involvement of the persons whose 
injury or death gives rise to the application. In the case of a minor, the board shall 
consider the minor's age, physical condition, and psychological state, as well as any 
compelling health and safety concerns, in determining whether the minor's application 
should be denied pursuant to this section. The application of a derivative victim of 
domestic violence under the age of 18 years of age or a derivative victim of trafficking 
under 18 years of age may not be denied on the basis of the denial of the victim's 
application under this subdivision. 
 
  (d)(1) Notwithstanding Section 13955, no person who is convicted of a felony may be 
granted compensation until that person has been discharged from probation or has 
been released from a correctional institution and has been discharged from parole, if 
any. In no case shall compensation be granted to an applicant pursuant to this chapter 
during any period of time the applicant is held in a correctional institution. 
 
    (2) A person who has been convicted of a felony may apply for compensation 
pursuant to this chapter at any time, but the award of that compensation may not be 
considered until the applicant meets the requirements for compensation set forth in 
paragraph (1). 
 
    (3) Applications of victims who are not felons shall receive priority in the award of 
compensation over an application submitted by a felon who has met the requirements 
for compensation set forth in paragraph (1). 
 

Jurisdiction  
 

California Penal Code Section 784.8 

 

When charges alleging multiple violations of Section 236.1 that involve the same victim 
or victims in multiple territorial jurisdictions are filed in one county pursuant to this 
section, the court shall hold a hearing to consider whether the matter should proceed in 
the county of filing, or whether one or more counts should be severed. The district 
attorney filing the complaint shall present evidence to the court that the district attorney 
in each county where any of the charges could have been filed has agreed that the 
matter should proceed in the county of filing. In determining whether all counts in the 
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complaint should be joined in one county for prosecution, the court shall consider the 
location and complexity of the likely evidence, where the majority of the offenses 
occurred, the rights of the defendant and the people, and the convenience of, or 
hardship to, the victim or victims and witnesses. 


